Christmas card competition winners announced

Thousands of creative pupils entered this year's card design challenge

Christmas card winners

Schools from across the authority area were invited to design cards this year which will be sent across the UK and beyond.

The successful entries came from pupils at Netherton, Balmalloch, Muirhouse, Banton primaries and Airdrie Academy.

Provost Jean Jones said: "Each year the standards seem to get even better - making the job of the judges all the harder - but it shows what talented young people we have here. Seeing their work in print will encourage our pupils to continue to develop their talents. I'd like to thank everyone who entered and congratulate all the winners.

"On behalf of everyone at the council I would like to wish all our residents a very Merry Christmas and a healthy and happy new year."

This year's winning pupils are:

  • Alex Okpaise - Netherton Primary School
  • Ellie Duncan - Balmalloch Primary School
  • Emma Dunlop - Balmalloch Primary School
  • Hailey Penman - Netherton Primary School
  • Abbie Stewart - Muirhouse Primary School
  • Sarah Wallace - Airdrie Academy       
  • Jessica Nimmo - Banton Primary School
A to Z of services