Housing Support - National Care Standards

Dignity, privacy, choice, safety, realising potential and equality and diversity

What are the National Care Standards?

Scottish Ministers set up the National Care Standards Committee (NCSC) to develop national standards. The NCSC carried out this work with the help of a number of working groups. These groups included people who use services, their families and carers, along with staff, professional associations, regulators from health and social care, local authorities, health boards and independent providers. Many others were also involved in the consultation process.

As a result, the standards have been developed from the point of view of people who use the services. They describe what each individual person can expect from the service provider. They focus on the quality of life that the person using the service actually experiences.

What are the main principles?

The principles are dignity, privacy, choice, safety, realising potential and equality and diversity.


Your right to:

  • be treated with dignity and respect at all times; and
  • enjoy a full range of social relationships.


Your right to:

  • have your privacy and property respected, and to receive the time, the space and the facilities you need and want; and
  • be free from intrusion as long as it is safe for you and everyone else.


Your right to:

  • make informed choices, while recognising the rights of other people to do the same;
  • know about the range of choices; and
  • get help to fully understand all the options and choose the one that is right for you.


Your right to:

  • feel safe and secure in all aspects of life, including health and wellbeing;
  • enjoy safety but not be over-protected; and
  • be free from exploitation and abuse.

Realising potential

Your right to have the opportunity to:

  • achieve all you can;
  • make full use of the resources that are available to you; and
  • make the most of your life.

Equality and diversity

Your right to:

  • live an independent life, rich in purpose, meaning and personal fulfillment;
  • be valued for your ethnic background, language, culture, and faith;
  • be treated equally and to live in an environment which is free from bullying, harassment and discrimination; and
  • be able to complain effectively without fear of victimisation.

What are the standards?

Before using the service (standards 1 to 4)

  1. Informing and deciding
  2. Your legal rights
  3. Management and staffing arrangements
  4. Housing support planning

Using the service (standards 5 to 8)

  1. Lifestyle - social, cultural and religious belief or faith
  2. Choice and communication
  3. Exercising your rights
  4. Expressing your views

Choosing to leave or end the service (standard 9)

  1. Choosing to leave or end the service

Where can I find further information?

You can view the full documents -


A to Z of services