District courts

New Justice of the Peace Courts - changes to the district courts system

Operation of the district courts transferred to the Scottish Court Service (SCS) on 22 February 2010.

The three district courts – in Coatbridge, Cumbernauld and Motherwell – will still sit in the same buildings but will be called Justice of the Peace Courts.

Court fines can be paid at any Justice of the Peace Court or Sheriff Court in Scotland.  Local courts are located at Airdrie Sheriff Court, Hamilton Sheriff Court, Cumbernauld Justice of the Peace Court and Motherwell Justice of the Peace Court.

For more information you can visit the Scottish Court Service website by using the links at the right hand side of this screen.

The changes to the district courts are part of reforms to the justice system and will create a unified court administration system across Scotland.

A to Z of services